The Redesdale Hall

E-mail Print PDF

Undoubtedly the most prominent building in the town centre is the magnificent Redesdale Hall which is situated in the High Street.

The Redesdale Hall was erected in 1887 by Sir Algernon Bertram Freeman Mitford, GCVO, KCB, 1st Baron Redesdale, Lord of the Manor of Moreton in pious memory of his kinsman, Earl of Redesdale, 1805-1886". The architect was Sir Ernest George (then Mr).

It was then purchased by Sir Gilbert Alan Hamilton Wills, BART, OBE, the 1st Baron Dulverton, who gave it to the North Cotswold Rural District Council, whose successor, the Cotswold District Council, gave it to Moreton in Marsh Parish Council in September 1974.

The Hall is run by a charitable trust – the Redesdale Hall Management Committee – which is made up of Members of Town Council and other local organisations from within the community. They take responsibility for the running of the Hall and maintain the interior.

Anyone wishing to hire the Hall should contact the Clerk of the Redesdale Hall Management Committee on 0751 933 0096 or email Rachel Davis at   This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it  for further information.

 

Meetings and Committees

Upcoming Events

Wed Aug 22 @18:30 -
Planning Committee Meeting
Tue Aug 28 @18:30 -
Finance Committee
Mon Sep 03 @18:30 -
Yes Committee
Mon Sep 10 @19:00 -
Council Committee
Wed Sep 12 @18:30 -
Planning Committee Meeting
Wed Sep 19 @18:30 -
NHP Committee
Thu Sep 20 @18:30 -
Estates Committee
Tue Sep 25 @18:30 -
Finance Committee
Wed Sep 26 @18:30 -
Planning Committee Meeting
Mon Oct 01 @18:30 -
Yes Committee

Contact Us

Normal Opening Hours*

Monday: Closed
Tuesday: 10am – 4pm
Wednesday: 9am – 4pm
Thursday: 9am – 4pm
Friday: Closed
Saturday: Closed
Sunday: Closed

…or by appointment.

*Subject to change due to external commitments and meetings.

Tel: 01608 651448
clerk@moretoninmarshtowncouncil.co.uk

 

Latest Items

Planning Applications